In case you were not aware, as of January 1, 2013, if you live in multi-housing you need to be aware of the new state law requiring the installation of a Carbon Monoxide (CO) alarm. Single family homes and multi family homes, not exceeding 4 units were subject to this law effective July 1, 2011. This California law requires the installation of a carbon monoxide (CO) alarm or a combined CO/Smoke detector.
Carbon Monoxide (CO), also known as the “Silent Killer”, is the leading cause of accidental poisoning deaths in the United States, with over 500 per year and sends another 20,000 annually to emergency rooms nationwide. Carbon Monoxide is an odorless, colorless and tasteless gas produced whenever any fuel is burned. It can enter the home from sources such as a gas or wood-stove, fireplace, household appliances, vehicles and other devices that burn fuel.
According to the law, detectors must be installed in all dwelling units that contain fossil fuel burning heaters and appliances, as well as a fireplace. It also applies to dwellings that have an attached garage. The definition of fossil fuel is “Fuel derived from prehistoric organisms: any carbon-containing fuel derived from the decomposed remains of prehistoric plants and animals, e.g., coal, peat, petroleum natural gas, gasoline and firewood.”
Effective Dates for CO Alarm Installation:
July 1, 2011 - all existing single-family dwelling units intended for human occupancy.
January 1, 2013 - all other existing dwelling units intended for human occupancy, e.g. condominiums, apartments and hotels.
Approved CO Alarms:
New Construction must be hardwired with battery backup and interconnected.
Existing homes may be battery operated, plug-in with battery backup or hardwired with battery backup.
Carbon Monoxide alarms must be installed outside each separate sleeping area in the immediate vicinity of the bedroom(s), and on every level of home, including basements.
According to California law, if you do not comply with the new law, you may face a maximum $200.00 fine. However, residents will receive a 30-day notice to correct, before fine will be imposed.
For further information, please click here.
If you are interested in getting Carbon Monoxide alarms installed in your home, apartment or condo, please give Steve’s Handyman Service a call.